Layering Fleece and Towels

Sef
I dissent.

Post   » Sat Aug 27, 2022 11:22 pm

I have been using fleece and towels on-and-off for many years, and the cages have always stayed nice and dry---until this past year or so, when we adopted Aaron and Barnaby. Their cage is almost constantly damp, no matter how many layers of towels I use under the fleece. Granted, it's a smaller cage (Midwest Habitat, which is all that I have room for here) but I'm not having that issue with either of the other two identical cages.

Has anyone here ever used alternating layers of fleece-towel-fleece-towel? I'm wondering if that might be a better solution, so that the urine is wicking down deeper vs. creating soggy towels beneath the top layer of fleece. I might experiment next week with it, just to see, but was curious to know if anyone else has tried it and what their experience was.

Renonvsparky

Post   » Sun Aug 28, 2022 2:35 am

I use horse bedding pellets. They do a good job of keeping the fleece dry and there's much less to wash. My fleece blankets stay dry for about 3 days. I don't let them go that long normally, but every once in awhile I forget or something comes up and I have to let them go beyond the third day. The only thing with using pellets under the fleece is that you have to come up with a way to secure the fleece so that the guinea pigs don't get under it and come into contact with the pellets. You can scoop out the wet stuff and replace with dry. They are available at most farm supply stores. They go for $8-$10 for a bag and it lasts me for 3-4 months using them on 6 cages. You can also use heating pellets, but those don't have the odor neutralizer like the bedding pellets do.

ItsaZoo
Supporter in 2023

Post   » Sun Aug 28, 2022 3:00 am

I use fleece over washable bed pads and that keeps the surface dry. I do notice with my wee pads that they can get soggy, especially the ones I use for hay piles. They are fleece with a towel and cotton fabric backing.

Sef
I dissent.