Zoe´s History Part 2: Heart problems & aging.

Zoe

Post   » Thu Apr 25, 2002 3:40 pm

A Complete History of Zoe:
Part 2: Heart problems and aging.

I am not a doctor; only a devoted slave to my pets. This is a report of my memories of Zoe’s experiences. This has not been approved for publishing by any of the vets mentioned.

Zoe is a 7 years and 8 month old guinea pig. She is a Satin-American Tortoise Shell mutt, who when healthy doesn’t weigh much over 2 pounds.

A few weeks ago, Zoe started falling down. She had been looking a little stiff before, but now she was falling and rolling over. She was starting to lose weight. Apparently, she hadn’t been as successful as usual at climbing up to the bowl to eat her pellets. I made an appointment with my favorite vet. I immediately went to a thrift store and found 2 ceramic ashtrays to use as pellet dishes. I also bought her 2 more water bottles and brought the spouts down a little lower. I wanted her to be able to eat and drink, no matter where she was in the cage. This helped her to gain a little weight back for a while.

Our first appointment, the vet listened to her heart and said he heard a significant heart murmur. He sent me home with Rimadyl for the pain and we scheduled a follow up appointment. Her walking improved with the Rimadyl, but by the end of the week, she was stumbling again.

The next appointment, Zoe made a sound that she has been making off and on for about a year. It was a wheezy kind of sound, but every time a vet checked her out, they would say that her lungs sounded fine. She had never made this noise before in front of a vet. It was just luck that he was holding her at the time. She also had been having a crustier nose and eyes than is normal. I always thought it was just part of her aging. It was possibly an earlier sign that her heart was not well.