Jake’s Overnight Eye Injury

TnJsMom

Post   » Sat Aug 06, 2022 10:11 am

Hello I am new to posting although the resources in this forum and site have been invaluable. I've been fiddling with how to add pictures but I'm not sure how, if anyone can tell me I'll happily share them for more detail.

I’m a recent undergrad in the UK with 2 male Guinea pigs, 10 months old called Terrence and Jake. They live fully indoors with me and I’ve started giving them free run of the room now I’ve finished uni and can stay home more.
I returned from a dentist appt in the evening to see Jake’s eye like this (very cloudy with red inflamed area at the bottom area of his eye, not actual flowing blood, no crust or other discharge, no swelling, marks, bald patches or anything else) after being fine when I left them in the morning - this is Wed 3rd Aug.I was still under the effect of painkillers so made an appointment for the morning and thought it was some sort of hay poke based on the internet, although I’ve never seen it before.Here's a rough timeline and again i have photos of every stage and would love support on how to upload them.

10:20am on Thurs 4th Aug is Jake’s first vet appointment, where his eye is examined with the dye etc. I’m told it looks more like a trauma injury because it came on suddenly and doesn’t seem to affect his behaviour. The vet said he required aggressive treatment so he had 2 injections, (an antibiotic and anti inflammatory) and some drops. I took some drops home too (isathal) which I was told to give every 3 hours (and have been doing so since).