Tiggy - See Xrays - heart pig??

dancbtmkr

Post   » Tue Oct 27, 2020 4:26 pm

Sorry this is long, but ....
I've had guinea pigs for over 10 years, and consider myself a "guinea pig guy". Let's say I'm not a novice. I've been coming to this web site for many years and have learned alot. I used to post here too, but I can't remember my login info so forgive me this says first post.

Tiggy is a 5.5 year old male. He's had zero health issues up until about 2 weeks ago. At first he seemed a "little off" and we watched him even closer than we always did given his age. Now, since about last Thursday or so he really took a nose dive. It was quite abrupt. He always gets weighted daily and never more than .5oz of a fluctuation. His normal weight is @ 41oz. He's not at 36.5 to 37 oz. in about 10 days of loss. Body condition is poor, some poops, but small and not normal.

His symptoms are/were reluctance to move. Not coming out to his plate for the AM and PM food routine. Picky. Just wants the treat type food. Now he's turning down just about everything. Sleeping. Sleeping. We took him to the vet (first time out in the world for him). He freaked. It was terrible. We were a fill in appt and we sat in the car with him for 4+ hours. 1.5hrs dirve each way. He would not settle down at all. He broke a front tooth on the carrier in the process.

Keep in mind here in PA, Covid means you don't even get to go in or talk to the DR. We dealt with a tech who was very nice. We were informed that they diagnosed him with a URI. His eyes were a big goopy, and he had the sneezes. With all that time close up in the car I picked up on the sneezes that I didn't notice before. With him constantly boiling in the cage, his breathing did seem a bit labored. They gave him a Vit C shot, and Batril and eye drops. I did ask them to look at his teeth and the tech said the DR said they looked OK. I have pads and a scope but his is impossible to get a good look.